Barcelona Travel List

If I was to choose two places right now to go visit it would be Barcelona and Yosemite National Park.

I admit that I ended up searching with Google for ideas of what would be fun to check out in both places. Here is a list with the light detail of everything that fascinates me into wanting to go even more.

Let’s begin with Barcelona.

There is the famous Parc Guell. It is one of the world’s most impressive man-made landscapes. The artistic style and Catalan culture is evident through he park’s numerous walking trails. While I’m here I’d go explore the Sala Hipostila which is an indoor marketplace that greets you with tiled lizards up the stairs. This is the destination where you’ll find the infamous mosaic snake-like bench that is said to be the longest in the world.

Do you love food? Who doesn’t? I know I sure do. If you don’t you have no need to worry. I’ll make up the difference for you. 😉

“A trip to the Mercat de Sant Josep de la Boqueria is a must.” This is a plaza with lots of local butchers, bakers, and farmers. Food, food, and more food. Mmm. “One TripAdvisor reviewer called the Boqueria ‘Aladdin’s cave of the highest quality produce of every type and variety.'”

Foodie Heaven

Remember that I’m using a list of top things to do in Barcelona. I’ll only be listing what sounds amazing for my visit, though.

I might want to visit Las Ramblas, a busy neighborhood in central Barcelona, to check out the 200-foot high column with Christopher Columbus looking down on the city from the top.

Have you ever heard of La Sagrada Familia or Church of the Sacred Family? It is still under construction to this very day. It began in 1882 by Antoni Gaudi. When I visit I will definitely have to check out the “Nativity Facade“. The extra costs for entrance into some of the interiors here will definitely be well worth the spending. It sounds like an absolutely amazing experience.

Another beautiful place I will visit is the well-recognized Casa Batllo. According to one traveler on TripAdvisor, the free audio guide is very helpful, and it will give you much more information about the place.

I am almost planning out my trip already. This sounds exciting. It would not be a short trip. Easily over a week. Maybe two or three even though three does sound a little stretched.

I will definitely have to visit the FC Barcelona‘s Camp Nou Stadium. Definitely! Futbol. Soccer. :))) Happiness.

“According to recent travelers, December is one of the best times to visit La Seu, as the courtyard comes to life with local craftsmen selling homemade Christmas decorations.” TAKE ALL MY MONEY! I LOVE CHRISTMAS!

Pablo! Picasso. Pablo! Picasso. Oh, wait. That isn’t the right name. Oh, well. Picasso is infamous as well. As are his works. There is the Picasso Museum that would be a splendid place to check out and take your time in. They even put a lot of his works into a timeline of sorts. This museum holds more than several thousand pieces by him. They even include artists he was inspired by.

It looks like I will definitely be doing a lot of photography on this trip when and if it goes down. My mother is an art teacher that is dear to my heart, and I want to show her some of what I see.

Now this one sounds interesting. Casa Mila, nicknamed La Pedrera, is a fortress-like building with no single straight wall or right-angled corner in its entirety. Casa Mila is now Barcelona’s cultural center, but it was originally constructed as a home.

Ooh! Here is a fun one. Palace of Catalan Music (Palau de la Musica Catalana), which is apparently not as flashy as some others of Gaudi’s works, but still has some beautiful works of its own. Some famous musicians being depicted include Bach and Beethoven. The interior of this UNESCO World Heritage Site features popular Catalan music. No fancy palace is complete without a massive stained glass central skylight either.

It looks like I’ll just save the Yosemite “travel plans” for the next post. 🙂 This ended up longer than I expected.

Now, who doesn’t want to see a castle? Montjuic Castle, Castell de Montjuic, would be a great start. The Pentagon of castles, “it helped defend the city from many an attack.” Take the tour. Imagine being one of the defenders during times of the era. How did they live? How did they fight? Did you survive?

It is also recommended to stay until after the sun sets to watch a “spectacular” light and waterworks show at the Magic Fountain.

What better way to finish things off than with a nice breath of sea air. The Mediterranean Sea to be more exact. At the southern end of the Passeig Maritime of the Barceloneta district is Port Olimpic. Port Olimpic is widely recognized by two skyscrapers against the Mediterranean Sea. Don’t worry. There are plenty of restaurants and bars for a bite to eat and drink while you enjoy the salty air.

I really would love to go now after looking at all of these places. It would be a blast.

1558733840_31166f9cff_o

Barcelona Travels

 

One thought on “Barcelona Travel List

  1. Sabrina

    Barcelona is great! I just visited this weekend again and was surprised that there are entrence fees for everything by now… A few years ago, in 2012 or so, it was possible to enter Parc Guell for free

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

